Christmas Roses…

Of course, one of the downsides to being in hospital over Christmas is the fact that you actually miss Christmas which is really tough.

I thought I’d be OK with it as my family would be in to visit me early evening with a promise of a cracker and a portion of ‘real’ Christmas pudding and Brandy Sauce. But…. it was way tougher than I ever expected it to be. Of course, the ward was devoid of decorations and waking at 6:00 a.m. to a bright sunny morning was not a good start. Despite wishing my fellow ward dwellers a happy Christmas with lots of hugs and hand shaking, there was just no sign of that elusive festive spirit.

There was a glimpse of it with my ‘elevenses’ as they gave us a slice of Christmas cake with our coffee, sadly it was stodgy and tasteless which sort of killed off that tiny glimmer of festive spirit.

Dinner was a truly dire attempt at a Christmas dinner and despite the pulling of crackers and wearing a party hat and sharing our motto’s I felt hollow, empty and very sad inside. After dinner I retired to my bed with a grump as visitors arrived feeling very sorry for myself. Totally selfish? Hmmm, yeah, maybe a little. But suddenly, Rob, the guy in the bed on my left had a posse of visitors arrive and his daughter Emma was standing by my bed with a present. She said it wasn’t much, but wanted me to have something on the day, something to unwrap. I was gob-smacked. I thanked her with a kiss and a tear in my eye as I unwrapped a box of Cadbury’s Roses. I was truly choked. Choked with Christmas spirit I think. Thanks Emma for filling me with Christmas spirit. I’ll never forget it.

I opened my box of Rose’s today and felt a rush of happiness welling up inside, feeling very emotional as I remembered the day I was given them. And I didn’t even mind when the first one I pulled out was an Orange Cream =:oP which is my least favourite of all, but despite that it tasted good.

A belated Happy Christmas guys.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Roses…

  1. nikkipolani says:

    You’re not forgotten, Steve, even by someone who might be called a stranger. How lovely of Emma to think of others in her father’s ward. Definitely a Christmas to remember 🙂

  2. Flighty says:

    Christmas is a difficult time for many people, as I well know, and a small gesture like that can help make all the difference. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

